Strawbale cottage set in bush garden
Strawbale cottage set in bush garden
2 gæster
Studio-lejlighed
1 seng
1 badeværelse
2 gæster
Studio-lejlighed
1 seng
1 badeværelse
Beløbet trækkes ikke endnu

Relax in the beautiful warmth of a unique strawbale cottage after spending the day enjoying the stunning natural beauty of the Blue Mountains. Situated in Leura but backing onto bushland, you'll adore the cosy atmosphere and comforts in this home away from home.

Pladsen

The Strawbale Cottage is a north-facing, split-level, open-plan design. It is filled with natural light during the day, and looks out over natural bushland. It is earth rendered and the majority of the materials are sourced from demolition yards or scavenged. It has a slow combustion fireplace that heats the whole space. Everything you need to light a cosy fire is supplied, including kindling, firewood, firestarters and matches. There are also two portable electric heaters for use as back up. One of them we have located in the bathroom for your convenience but which of course can be moved around if needed.

The sleeping area consists of a queen sized bed (equipped with an electric blanket) on the upper level. There are empty shelves for clothes storage and a small clothes rack for hanging space. The bathroom, which is also on the upper level is a full sized space consisting of a beautiful (but rustic) recycled claw foot bath/shower. Great for a long soak. There is also a front loading washing machine and a clothes dryer in the bathroom.

There is a ladder that leads to a loft area which is currently set up as a reading/relaxing space. It gets a lot of afternoon sun and is a great place for a bit of a nap. The Cottage has been well stocked with books. There are lots of fiction and reference books, mostly on gardening and building. If you are half way through a book at the end of your stay I'm sure we can come to an arrangement :). The reference books will have to stay though.

Downstairs consists of the fire place, some funky vinyl lounge chairs, a television and DVD player. There is a well equipped kitchen with a microwave, fridge, electric frypan, and two-burner electric benchtop cooker (with a small grill and oven). The bottom level also has a dining table that seats four people.

We will provide you with tea and coffee and milk of your choice.

There are french doors that lead to large decks on both levels with an outdoor table on the bottom deck.

The cottage was built by Dan, so if you are interested in how it was all done please feel free to ask.

The cottage is down the back of the property behind the main house. It is about 40 metres from the road down a number of gentle steps.

It is a 25 minute walk into Leura mall and to the train station. You will find many coffee / dining options and lots of good shopping. There is also a supermarket, post office, newsagent and a great bottle shop!

In addition to the many well known tourist attractions in the Blue Mountains, there are some undiscovered gems we can direct you to nearby our property. There are bush walks and the area is perfect for mountain biking! For example it is a 15km ride along Mount Hay Road (which becomes a fair/reasonably maintained dirt road not far past our place) to one of the most amazing views you are likely to see. Mount Hay Road can also be accessed by most cars and there are many beautiful walks including to Blue Gum Forest, Lockley's Pylon and Flat Top.

Adgang for gæster

Guests have access to the whole cottage and some areas of the garden. Guests are welcome to park in front of our fence in our bitumen driveway where there are two parking spaces off the road.

Kontakt med gæster

We are generally available on the premises, but are always available by telephone if out, or away. We are happy to help and we'd love you to let us know if there's anything you need.

If we are available, it may be possible to arrange to pick you up from the station if need be.

Andre ting, der er værd at bemærke

We have a young family including two kids, two dogs, two goats, bees and usually a bunch of chickens :).

The dogs are very friendly but they can carry on a bit when people arrive! We will try to keep them inside when you arrive and not let them bother you while you're here. If possible though, we will introduce you to them so that they are familiar with you during your stay.


Faciliteter
Pejs
Varme
Familie-/børnevenlig
Internet

Priser
Rengøringsgebyr 256 kr
Rabat pr. uge: 10%
Weekendpris 767 kr / nat
Kommuniker altid via Airbnb
For at beskytte din betaling skal du aldrig overføre penge eller kommunikere uden for Airbnb's hjemmesiden eller app.
Læs mere

Overnatningsarrangementer
Fællesrum
1 dobbeltseng

Husregler
Rygning forbudt
Passer ikke til kæledyr
Ingen fester eller begivenheder
Indtjekning er når som helst efter 14:00.
Udtjekning inden 11:00

- Our own home is on the same property so we prefer no wild parties please ;)
- There is a small flight of stairs in the split level home so please take caution with infants aged 0 to 2 years.

Du skal også acceptere
Der bor hunde i huset

Aflysninger

Sikkerhedsfunktioner
Røgalarm
CO-alarm
Førstehjælpskasse

Ledighed
Minimum antal nætter for dette opslag varierer.
Tilføj dine rejsedatoer for at se flere oplysninger.

134 omtaler

Nøjagtighed
Kommunikation
Renhed
Beliggenhed
Tjek ind
Værdi
Evan & Pip Brugerprofil
oktober 2017
We had a wonderful weekend staying at Kylie & Dan's amazing home. The house itself is incredible, so homey & comfortable, we loved hanging out by the fireplace. The home is only a few minutes drive from town however is very private and secluded, nestled in the Australian bush. Kylie & Dan were wonderful hosts, they were very friendly & gave us lots of useful information to help us enjoy the most of the region. We would definitely recommend staying with Kylie and Dan and would love to stay again another time.

Shania Brugerprofil
september 2017
My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at the strawbale cottage!! The location is nice and very peaceful. The quirky cottage is very inviting and warm. It was the perfect size for the two of us and had everything you need! Kylie and Dan are very kind and welcoming people and made sure we had a comfortable stay! Their two dogs are very gentle and sweet, they are a little timid at first but soon warm up to you! Kylie was very helpful in showing us around the cottage and how to use the fire place (which is amazing once lit, the cottage warms up so quickly) We highly recommend the strawbale cottage to anyone looking at staying in the blue mountains! It’s only a short drive from luera and Katoomba. The tourist pamphlets and books provided are very helpful for someone who hasn’t been to the blue mountains before!

Julie Brugerprofil
september 2017
This place is a magical escape. The house itself is incredibly unique and bursting with charm, it is cosy with the fireplace but doesn't feel cramped at all. Kylie and Dan were super accommodating (they even found us a puzzle when we asked them out of the blue), and made the whole experience better than we could have hoped. I actually don't think I could say a bad thing about our time. Don't miss the opportunity to book it for a weekend away!

Cass Brugerprofil
september 2017
This house is great for someone who wants a place that has character and is a bit different it was warm and inviting,we loved the fire and the peace and quiet. Dan & Kylie were available but non intrusive,we really enjoyed our stay.

Kelly Brugerprofil
september 2017
This was our second stay and we loved it again. The cottage is our fave Blue Mts get away.

James Brugerprofil
september 2017
the house, its layout, its appearance and its location in the bush is fantastic. it was really nice to wake up to the sounds of birds, eat breakfast on the balcony and be warmed by the fire at night. however the parking is on the street and there are 31 steps and 2 gates to negotiate every time you enter or leave the house. we were lucky as we had fine weather all the time and did not go out at night, but it would have been difficult had this not been the case. the kitchen is very basic particularly the stove and it would have been nice to have had some drinking tumblers rather than large glass mugs to drink from. with some TLC it would be great
Kylie & Dan BrugerprofilKylie & Dan er SuperHost.
Svar fra Kylie & Dan:
Hi James, we are sorry to hear that you didn't totally enjoy your stay at our cottage however we find your criticisms to be pretty strange. Our listing states that the cottage is 40m back from the road and down some gentle steps. Your comments about the weather and access at night being difficult don't make much sense. We provide guests with two large umbrellas for their use in case of inclement weather, and we suggest that folks bring a torch since it is pretty dark at our property due to it being surrounded by bushland. We also point out the location of the outdoor lighting as part of our check in procedure. We can't understand your issue with the stove. The oven in place when you stayed with us was only one week old - having been purchased brand new, days before you arrived. As per our listing, it provides two electric burners, a small oven and a griller. It's a stainless steel Euromaid MC130T Electric Benchtop oven. It is not a full size oven but we don't advertise it as a full size oven. It is more than adequate (in fact, we think it is pretty awesome) for a short holiday stay. We even had an electrician install a dedicated electrical circuit for use with the oven. As for the drinking glasses, we personally prefer large tumblers ourselves. We suggest that perhaps this style of accommodation is not right for you and that you should very carefully read listings and view photos prior to booking next time.
september 2017

Ushi Brugerprofil
september 2017
Absolutely wonderful stay at Kylie and Dan's. We loved the very warm welcome from Kylie, the baby and very friendly dogs. The cottage was warm, cozy and had all that we needed. Dan built the cottage himself and we loved the attention to detail, down to the exposed bit of straw on the wall and waking up to coloured glass above on the ceiling. It's the perfect spot to relax in or explore from. Definitely would love to return.

Leura, AustralienMedlem siden november 2013
Kylie & Dan BrugerprofilKylie & Dan er SuperHost.

We love welcoming folks to stay in our hand-crafted strawbale cottage. Dan loves gardening, permaculture, eco-building projects and looking after our various goats, chickens, dogs and kids. Kylie loves eating the food from Dan's gardening efforts, spending time with our baby girl, reading, learning and travelling. We enjoy being Airbnb hosts and look forward to meeting all our diverse and amazing guests.

Svarprocent: 100%
Svartid: inden for en time

Nabolaget

Lignende opslag